



SHARE E-Resources Committee Meeting

Monday, March 28, 2022, at 3:00 p.m.
Illinois Heartland Library System
6725 Goshen Road, Edwardsville, Illinois 62025
via Zoom

Minutes

Committee Members:

Ryan Johnson, Chair Jenna Dauer Lauren Erwin Alissa Henkel

Sarah Hill Janet McAllister Kyla Waltermire

Call Meeting to Order and Roll Call: Called to order by Chair Ryan Johnson at 3:00 p.m. In attendance—Jenna Dauer, Lauren Erwin, Alissa Henkel, Sarah Hill, Ryan Johnson, Janet McAllister, and Kyla Waltermire.

Absent-None.

IHLS staff—Jennifer Baugh, Don Pippin, Dena Porter, Cassandra Thompson, and Lesley Zavediuk.

Approval of Minutes from the September 27, 2021, Meeting: Ryan Johnson made a motion to approve minutes and was seconded by Alissa Henkel. All in favor and motion passed.

Old Business:

- **cloudLibrary Review**: Cassandra Thompson and Lesley Zavediuk met with our Bibliotheca representative, Chris Herpers, to evaluate the cloudLibrary collection and usage. In comparison to four other similar groups, SHARE's cloudLibrary program had the second highest downloads per user (23), the highest number of circs (404,068), the highest number of unique users (17,043), highest average circs-per-copy (41), and lowest cost-per-circ (\$0.57).
- Digital Only Cards: A member library asked the SHARE Circulation & Resource Sharing Committee to revisit a previous decision to offer a digital-only patron type for non-residents. The request is problematic because current Illinois library law states that non-residents who pay an equivalent amount as a tax paying patron are entitled to the same services. With the change to the law, allowing non-residents to access digital only cards, the rules are a bit opaque. One member library has decided to offer these cards at a reduced rate, but has found a "Special Use" patron type that will work for their purposes. Other libraries use the "Self-Registration" patron type when the card is offered so that resident patrons can immediately access digital resources. The SHARE Circulation & Resource Sharing Committee decided that they will not add an additional patron type at this time.
- Other: None.

New Business:

- **Committee Chair:** Ryan Johnson's term will end as of July 2022. Committee members volunteers are needed. This will be tabled until the next meeting.
- cloudLibrary Fee Allocation: The committee discussed changing the current member fee allocations for the cloudLibrary group. Currently the allocations are 60% to collection development, 20% to pay-per-use (PPU), and 20% to the reserve, in order to pay the next year's platform fee. Lesley Zavediuk has recommended changing the allocation to 60% collections, 25% PPU, and 15% reserves. We have a healthy balance in reserve, and this is similar to changes that she makes in high usage months in order to support PPU use. There might be a slight decrease in existing reserves, so the committee will monitor and make adjustments after a few years, if necessary. Ryan Johnson made a motion to accept the proposed adjustment to the cloudLibrary allocations. Lauren Erwin seconded the motion, with all in favor per a roll call vote.
- bibliotheca Newsstand: The committee discussed adding a second group purchase for bibliotheca Newsstand, as a separate product, not as an add-on to the existing cloudLibrary eresources group. After discussion, the committee decided to not move forward.
- The New York Times: There is an existing group purchase for six libraries for The New York Times. This was due to a massive price increase, where our members were able to band together to get a better rate with one group purchase. The committee discussed expanding this access to a second group but decided against it.
- Collection Development Policy: Lesley Zavediuk proposed changes to the existing collection development policy. The committee discussed adding a statement on how the collection is funded and adding a reconsideration of materials process. Cassandra Thompson will discuss the reconsideration procedures with the IHLS Leadership Team, in order to bring it to the attention of the IHLS Board of Trustees, since they are the ultimate authority for both SHARE and IHLS. Lesley Zavediuk will add the proposed changes, and Cassandra Thompson will take this to the SHARE Executive Council for further review and final approval. Alissa Henkel made a motion to send the revised collection development policy, including the changes that were discussed, to the SHARE Executive Council for final approval. Sarah Hill seconded the motion. All in favor and the motion carried.

• Other: None.

Public Comment: None.

Announcements: None.

Next Meeting: Monday, September 26, 2022, at 3:00 p.m.

Adjournment: There being no further business, Ryan Johnson adjourned the meeting at 3:57 p.m.