



SHARE Executive Council Meeting

Thursday, July 6, 2017 at 2:30 pm Illinois Heartland Library System 6725 Goshen Road Edwardsville, Illinois 62025 618-656-3216 via Zoom at https://zoom.us/j/724769668

Minutes

Call meeting to order and roll call: The meeting was called to order at 2:30, by chair Susan McKinney. In attendance—April Becker, Diana Donahoo, Sonya Johnson, Susan McKinney, Rick Meyer, Annette Mills, Jacob Pahde, Jill Pifer, Paula Tretter Absent-- Scott Drone-Silvers, Shelly Varvil Also in attendance—Traci Edwards, Chris Dawdy

Public Comment: none

Approval of minutes for 5/4/17: The minutes were approved as written on a motion made by April Becker, and seconded by Annette Mills. All ayes; no nays; minutes approved.

New Business

- SHARE Executive Committee election results & installation of new members and officers—Chris Dawdy reported that Susan McKinney, representing Small Public Libraries, was elected for a second term; Annette Mills, Shelly Varvil, and Sonya Johnson, representing school libraries, were elected to second terms; Scott Drone-Silvers was elected to fill the vacancy created by Spencer Brayton's departure from IHLS; Jacob Pahde was elected chair of the Bibliographic and Cataloging Standards Committee; Paula Tretter was elected chair of the Circulation and Resource Sharing Committee; there is currently an opening for chair of the eResource Committee, which will be filled at the committee's next meeting; Susan McKinney made a motion to certify the election; Jill Pifer seconded the motion; all ayes; no nays; motion passed. At this point in the meeting, April Becker assumed her new role as chair of the committee.
- Election of vice chair—Susan McKinney nominated Rick Meyer to be vice chair of the committee; Jill Pifer seconded the nomination; all ayes; no nays; motion passed.
- Definition of SHARE Full Member—Rick Meyer made a motion to approve the proposed change in the definition for SHARE Full Member, as found in the SHARE Governance document. Jill Pifer seconded the motion; Roll call vote: Becker—yes; Donahoo—yes; Johnson—yes; McKinney yes; Meyer—yes; Mills—yes; Pahde—yes; Pifer—yes; Tretter—yes; motion approved; The proposed change will be presented to the SHARE Membership for approval at the next meeting.

• Other--none

Old Business

• Other--none

Illinois Heartland Library System Report: Chris Dawdy reported that the next Members Matter meeting will be held next Tuesday, July 11, from 10 to 12, at the Decatur Public Library, or via Zoom; Directors University was a great success; the new board members for the IHLS Board of Directors will be seated in July;

SHARE Staff Update: Chris Dawdy reported that there are five libraries joining SHARE with help from the Wal-Mart grant—Jonesboro Public Library, Tilden Public Library, Ramsey Public Library, and Mounds Public Library; two more libraries are still considering whether or not to take advantage of the grant; SHARE member fee and eResource invoices will be sent to members in July;

SHARE Committee Updates

- Bibliographic Services & Cataloging Standards—Jacob Pahde reported that RDA implementation started July 1; all catalogers should be fully using RDA for cataloging; Pam Thomas will be presenting additional RDA classes during the next year; the committee is working on establishing criteria for the RDA standards for SHARE;
- Circulation & Resource Sharing—Paula Tretter reported that the last meeting was held on June 8; discussion about required training for circulation staff has been discussed, and SHARE staff will be presenting a proposal for those requirements at the next meeting; the committee has been discussing starting a pilot group for common loan rules; several members have left the committee, and several member library staff have volunteered to become a member of the committee; Maria Dent was added to the committee at the last meeting; one more representative from a public library and one from a special library will be added in the near future.
- Fee/Finance/Policy Committee—Jill Pifer reported that there are no current projects to report on;
- eResource Committee—Chris Dawdy reported that the committee has made the decision to
 organize User Groups for the eResource consortia, who will be responsible for making decisions
 for those groups (such as fees and loan rules); Lesley Zavediuk will take the lead in organizing
 the User Groups, and the groups will report to the eResource Committee; the eResource
 Committee will be meeting two times per year (the fourth Monday in September and March),
 unless a special meeting is scheduled.

Announcements: none

Next meeting: Thursday, September 7, 2017 at 2:30

Adjournment: The meeting adjourned at 2:56 on a motion made by Susan McKinney, and seconded by Jill Pifer. All ayes; no nays; meeting adjourned.