



SHARE Policy and Finance/Fees Committee Meeting

Friday, February 12, 2016 at 10 am
Decatur Public Library

Minutes

Call meeting to order and roll call: The meeting was called to order at 10:08 by chair Diane Yeoman.

In attendance: Diane Yeoman, Esther Curry, Jill Pifer, Miranda Shake, Janet Cler, Amy Byers *Absent*: Anita Driver

Also in attendance: Joan Bauer, SHARE Manager for Bibliographic Services; Traci Edwards, SHARE Manager for Administrative Services; Chris Dawdy, SHARE Director; Bobbi Perryman, SHARE Executive Council president; Adrienne Elam, IHLS CFO; Rhonda Johnisee, IHLS Senior Accountant; Rick Meyer, Director, Decatur Public Library; Shirley Paden, IHLS Accounts Receivable Coordinator; Colleen Dettenmeier, IHLS Accounts Payable Coordinator; Nick Bennyhoff, Bibliographic Project Coordinator;

Approval of January 21, 2016 minutes: The minutes were approved on a motion made by Jill Pifer, and seconded by Miranda Shake. All ayes; no nays; motion passed.

Old Business:

- SHARE Operational Guidelines—Chris Dawdy presented information about the revised policy and procedure document, which combines the policies and procedures for all of the SHARE departments (governing, bibliographic and cataloging standards, and circulation and resource sharing, as well as portions of the ILLINET Code) into one document; the consensus of the committee was that the organization of the document is appropriate, and that, when posted on the SHARE website and searchable, will be easier for libraries to use.
- Review of current budget status—Adrienne Elam, IHLS Chief Financial Officer, presented information on the current status of the budget and expenditures; the SHARE budget has been adjusted for changes resulting from the increased cost of health insurance, salaries remaining at FY15 levels, reduced travel funds; Adrienne reported that the previously approved transfer of funds from SHARE's operating fund to the reserve fund for FY15 had not yet taken place since those funds were used as operating cash at the beginning of FY16 until SHARE member fees were paid. In the past, IHLS general fund money was used for that purpose, but that was not an option this fiscal year. Miranda

Shake made a motion to transfer the previously approved \$142,500.00 to the reserve fund at this time. Jill Pifer seconded the motion. Roll call vote: Diane Yeoman, yes; Esther Curry, yes; Jill Pifer, yes; Miranda Shake, yes; Janet Cler, yes; Amy Byers, yes. Motion passed.

The committee also discussed the viability of transferring funds from the operating fund to the reserve fund within six months of the beginning of the next fiscal year in the future. The consensus of the committee was to table the discussion for a future meeting, as more information about the current financial situation becomes available.

Viability of SHARE as an organization—A motion was made by Esther Curry to consult
with Phil Lenzini to gain his legal opinion on what SHARE's options are with regard to
sustainability as an organization, and what actions should be taken to protect SHARE's
assets. Janet Cler seconded the motion. Roll call vote: Diane Yeoman, yes; Esther Curry,
yes; Jill Pifer, yes; Miranda Shake, yes; Janet Cler, yes; Amy Byers, yes. Motion passed.

New Business

Proposal for SHARE Implementation fees—Chris Dawdy informed the committee that
 Traci Edwards, Joan Bauer, and Chris reviewed the impact of the current
 implementation fee structure that has been in place during the execution of the Dream
 Grant, and, given the concerns about the organization's current financial situation,
 developed a revised SHARE Implementation Fee structure. Miranda Shake made a
 motion to adopt the proposed SHARE Implementation Fee structure, and Jill Pifer
 seconded. Roll call vote: Diane Yeoman, yes; Esther Curry, yes; Jill Pifer, yes; Miranda
 Shake, yes; Janet Cler, yes; Amy Byers, yes. Motion passed.

Public Comment: none

Announcements: Janet Cler thanked the IHLS Finance department for attending the meeting and providing useful and needed information.

Next meeting: April 21, 2016 at 10 am

Adjournment: The meeting adjourned at 11:41 am, on a motion made by Miranda Shake, and seconded by Esther Curry. All ayes; no nays; motion passed.