



SHARE Policy and Finance/Fees Committee

Meeting

Wednesday, April 20, 2016 at 10 am Effingham Public Library

Minutes

Call meeting to order and roll call: The meeting was called to order at 10:06 am by chair Diane Yeoman.

In attendance: Diane Yeoman, Esther Curry, Jill Pifer, Miranda Shake, Janet Cler, Amy Byers, Anita Driver;

Absent: none

Also in attendance: Joan Rhodes, Vespasian Warner Public Library District; Troy Brown, IHLS IT Director; Leslie Bednar, IHLS Executive Director; Joan Bauer, SHARE Bibliographic Services Manager; Traci Edwards, SHARE Administrative Services Manager; Shirley Paden, IHLS Accounts Receivable Coordinator; Colleen Dettenmeier, IHLS Accounts Payable Coordinator; Rhonda Johnisee, IHLS OCLC Senior Accountant; Adrienne Elan, IHLS Chief Financial Officer; Chris Dawdy, SHARE Director;

Approval of February 12, 2016 minutes: The minutes were approved on a motion made by Jill Pifer, and seconded by Esther Curry. All ayes; no nays; motion passed.

Old Business

- Review of current budget status: no new information has been received from the Illinois State Library; IHLS has received some additional money; there is no information available for FY17; reviewed expenditures for the first three quarters of the year; reviewed the estimated FY17 budget;
- Information from Phil Lenzini: the consensus of the committee is that additional information should be obtained about becoming an independent not-for-profit organization, to determine costs and requirements, if, in the future, IHLS ceases to exist or systems merge again; SHARE staff will provide this information for the next meeting;
- SHARE Transitional Member Implementation Fees: reviewed the information to be presented at the SHARE Semi-Annual meeting in May.

New Business

- SHARE members dropping membership: Traci, Joan, and Chris will develop a proposal for the next meeting;
- Review of SHARE membership levels: Esther Curry made a motion to continue using the current levels of membership—Full, transitional, and affiliate members. Jill Pifer seconded the motion. All ayes; no nays; motion passed.
- SHARE Governing Document—potential changes to discuss
 - Under Definitions: SHARE Full Member—an IHLS full member library that pays fees that allow for access to at least the basic modules...
 - Under Definitions: SHARE Transitional Member—an IHLS full member library with an ILS that intends to become a full SHARE member within a three year period.
 - Under Membership Types: SHARE is a consortium of multi-type libraries (public, school, special, and academic) that are members of the Illinois Heartland Library System.

Anita Driver made a motion to change *IHLS* to *ILLINET* in the three statements. Miranda Shake seconded the motion. All ayes; no nays; motion passed. The definition of ILLINET Member, as found in *Illinois Library Laws & Rules*, will be added to the SHARE Operational Guidelines definitions page.

- Seats on the Executive Council for FY17: At present, there are openings on the
 Executive Council for FY16/17 for the public library over 50,000 seat, Circulation and
 Resource Sharing chair, and Policy/Finance Committee chair. SHARE staff will make
 appropriate contacts and announcements to make sure all seats are accounted for.
 Anita Driver nominated Jill Pifer to be the chair of the SHARE Finance/Policy Committee.
 Janet Cler seconded the nomination. All ayes; no nays; motion passed.
- FY17 & FY18 SHARE Member fees: Esther Curry made a motion to use funds earmarked for reserves for the current year to meet the shortfall for FY15/16, and to determine how much to be transferred following the annual audit in the fall. Jill Pifer seconded the motion. Roll call: Ayes—Diane Yeoman, Esther Curry, Jill Pifer, Miranda Shake, Janet Cler, Amy Byers, Anita Driver. Nays—none. Motion passed. Esther Curry made a motion to not make any changes in the proposed FY16/17 Member fees until mere information is available. Miranda Shake appended the motion. Pall call.

fees until more information is available. Miranda Shake seconded the motion. Roll call: Ayes—Diane Yeoman, Esther Curry, Jill Pifer, Miranda Shake, Janet Cler, Amy Byers, Anita Driver. Nays—none. Motion passed.

Public Comment: none

Announcements: none

Next meeting: June 15, 2016, at 10 am

Adjournment: The meeting adjourned at 12:20, on a motion made by Anita Driver, and seconded by Miranda Shake. All ayes; no nays; motion passed.